Mac OS X Snow Leopard: Clamshell mode is not supported with battery

Publié le par batter123

After a long tribulations with Apple technical support, I discovered that you can not use an external monitor when the screen of my MacBook Pro is closed (clamshell mode) and the laptop is on battery power. Given then that with the unibody with which they are made new Macbook Pro can not remove the Sony VGP-BPS13A/S battery, we are faced with the following options:

You keep your notebook powered at the expense of battery life;
You do not use an external monitor when working on battery power alone;
It keeps open the screen of the Macbook Pro when using the battery and connects to an external monitor.

I have reluctantly opted for the solution 3, since along with my laptop I also have an LED Apple Cinema Display (if I had known I probably would have opted not to take it). But in order to get the most I had to make some changes to the default settings of the operating system. First, I chose not to use cloning to prevent the screens to work with a resolution of ibm ThinkPad T60 battery on a monitor that gives his best at 1920 x 1200. Secondly I had to change the positioning of the menu bar and instruments from laptop to external monitor to make sure that the cinema display becomes the primary monitor. Fortunately, when the monitor is not connected to the laptop, the menu bar and dock to be visible in the back of the notebook monitor without causing any problems. But problems arise when connecting to an external projector in which case I have to rearrange the priorities between the MacBook and monitor external projector.

Some might say that the end is nothing but a problem for me is not so for a few reasons:

My workspace at home is minimal (in size) and then this new way has forced me to reorganize the entire work area;
I come from years of experience with Dell laptops and Dell external monitor mode where the Clamshell was fully supported in Sony VGP-BPS13B/B battery mode;
With my previous MacBook Pro (version 2008) and the Cinema Display 23 (previous to the present), being able to remove the battery, the entrance of Mac technology in the home had not had any impact on logistics.

At this moment I regret my Dell, both in terms of functionality for the assistance. Apple support, which I by extending the basic warranty, not even remotely close to what is offered by Dell. That said, Apple has an unmatched design but it certainly is lacking in support and some features considered basic to any user with a notebook (see mode Clamshell).lenovo IBM ThinkPad T61 battery

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article